Progress was built for W Elwell and Sons and was also operated in later years by Leonard Leigh and Jimmy Yates. Progress was converted to a hire boat by Jimmy Yates in 1958 and renamed Pintail. The present Fowler 2DYM diesel engine (1944) was first installed in Progress in 1958.
Progress was fully restored between 1997 and 2000 by Jem Bates and Peter Whitling. The cabin has been reconstructed and fitted out in reclaimed oak retaining some of the original frames. The 2 (+2 children) cabin has heating from Classic stove and diesel Refleks heater, hot water and shower from engine/Refleks/240 volt immersion.
The tug was sold on twice in 15 years It was purchased in 2017 by The Trust Members Bill Mann, Phil Kidd, and Trevor Allum. The cabin was in a bad state and the 3 members re skinned the cabin.
The purchase was privately funded along with its up keep. Bill Phil and Trevor primly purchased the tug to help preserve and carry forward David’s Legacy.